Ben and Collin Johns competing at the Veolia LA Open presented by Deep Eddy Vodka.

Ben and Collin Johns beat Tyson McGuffin and Jaume Martinez Vich in five games. The final score was 7-11, 11-9, 11-9, 8-11, 11-6. For the first time in 2024, a match on Championship Sunday went to five games. It lasted for more than two hours and kept everyone on the edge of their seats.

McGuffin and Martinez Vich showed off their explosive skills during the match. They used well-timed attacks to break their opponents’ rhythm during long rallies. However, the Johns brothers remained resilient and patient. This helped them take the lead in Game 5 and finally win the match. This is the 31st PPA title for the Johns brothers.

Buckner Takes Down Startman Wins Her First PPA Title

Match Stats:

  • Winners: Benjamin Johns & Collin Johns (1)
  • Losers: Tyson McGuffin & Jaume Martinez Vich (4)
  • Score: 7-11, 11-9, 11-9, 8-11, 11-6
  • Match Duration: 121 minutes 13 seconds
  • Timeouts Used:
    • Johns & Johns: 3
    • McGuffin & Vich: 5
  • Longest Point Streak:
    • Johns & Johns (Game 2): 8 points
    • McGuffin & Vich (Game 1): 4 points

“It’s always special to play on the center court and win a title, but to do it with your younger brother is even better,” he said while talking to pickleballtv. “I never thought I’d be in this position, so it’s very cool.”

Best Pickleball Socks: The Key To Comfort, Support, And Performance